My teenagers get ACTIVE

Can You Relate?

MLKpinI am not talking about exercise or turning off the electronics—both good ideas—but about social justice work. Last week, the speaker at our Shabbat service to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Dr. Alexes Harris, grabbed my daughters’ attention. Instead of leaving them feeling like the world’s problems are too big to fix, she inspired them to be actors in their own lives and community. WOW! Anyone who gets my kids as excited about justice as the latest beauty blog is someone I need to pay attention to.

One of my daughters said, “This speech was not just about Dr. King’s legacy, but what I can do today, with attainable ideas, small things that are acts of social justice.” Yes, she really said that. Here is a shortened version of the speech that got her there:

I am a mother, wife, daughter, friend, professor and social activist…. I am…

View original post 1,521 more words

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I think what you posted was very reasonable.
    However, think on this, suppose you were to create a killer post title?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run
    your website, but what if you added a title that grabbed folk’s attention?
    I mean My teenagers get ACTIVE | paulmaher82blog is a little vanilla.

    You might peek at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create post
    headlines to grab viewers to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to get people excited about everything’ve
    written. Just my opinion, it could make your blog a little livelier.

    1. Travelnack says:

      Ok thanks I have tried to change the title of my blog here on word press but it doesent seem to do it for me. Any advice on that my friend?

      Paul

Leave a Reply

